One Asia Festival – Celebrating The Images of Asia

 

Celebrating The Images of Asia is part of One Asia Festival which is organized by Asian Geographic, the region’s leading geographical magazine. This was a highly anticipated event especially to all the participants of the world-renowned Asia Without Borders Photography Competition, which awarded over US$18,000 worth of prizes to all the winners. I didn’t submit any photos for this competition, although I desperately wanted to get the main prize – a Canon EOS 5D Mk II and S$5,000 cash. I simply couldn’t produce any photos that fit the themes of the competition. But I did submit some of my photos for another less known competition organized by Asian Geographic Passport, another favourite travel magazine of  mine.  Both Asian Geographic and Asian Geographic Passport offer quality articles, travel stories and stunning photographs of Asia. You have to read these magazines if you like travelling and photography, like me.

I submitted a total of 12 photos for Travel Without Borders Photography Competition, which comprises of 3 categories: Adventure Asia, Celebration Asia and Icons of Asia. Though I didn’t win any of the titles, I felt equally proud and happy to see 4 of my photos displayed in the event. I sincerely thank Asian Geographic and Asian Geographic Passport for this.

Let’s see my submissions.

Category: Adventure Asia

Langkawi, Malaysia

Mount Bromo, Indonesia

 

Category: Celebration Asia

Pushkar, India

Pushkar, India

Pushkar, India

Pushkar, India

 

Category: Icons of Asia

Hoi An, Vietnam

Hoi An, Vietnam

Jaipur, India

Xi’an, China

Xi’an, China

69 thoughts on “One Asia Festival – Celebrating The Images of Asia

  1. Hey, those pictures are amazing. Must be so proud to have your own pictures displayed. I’m proud of you too 🙂 Keep going. I would love to see more of your pictures …

  2. I live in Asia now and I still think your images are great ! I have visited Xi’an and will visit Vietnam soon and to see the pictures inspire me to try get some good shots while I go..but yours is truely great !! Well done.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention One Asia Festival – Celebrating The Images of Asia « MOMENT | Photography -- Topsy.com

  4. Photography is an amazing thing, a thing I wish I knew more about and had more time to do. These photos are amazing! I especially liked the close-up of the camel wearing all those colorful things! Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed, and for being featured, if not winning, the Travel Without Borders competition.

  5. I love your pics of India! Though for some reason, I’m quite drawn to one of your first photos of the man with the horse in Indonesia. I really like how you took this shot 😀

  6. Wow, you really should have won that competition. Your photos are stunning. I actually visited Malaysia last Summer and thought the country was beautiful. Glad to see it in your collection. Keep up the good work!

  7. Congratulations on being featured on Freshly Pressed!
    Your images are stunning, full of life and colour, and speak of daily life in the countries you visited.
    I used to live in Thailand and have travelled a fair bit in Asia. Your photographs reminded me of how much I miss it and that I really must plan another trip there. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Great shots! It enables us to take a peek at the other side of the world. I’d love to go to some parts in Asia, I’ve only visited the Philippines though. Which reminds me, I have to go over my itinerary 😉

  9. congrats! should have broken the news to me earlier so i could give u a birthday treat tonight!
    i love the moon on Jaipur’s sky! send me the photo, will u? =)

  10. You’ve fame now ! therefore the wish of getting more money will not be granted. You have to choose between one I am afraid.

    I love the stunt with horse in Pushkar.Not only you captured the static of a movement, but more into the reflection on the crowd, who obviously trying to capture the same thing as you. More intercation with the surrounding and more fun !

  11. and I spotted something ! You have stronger colour on the left and gradually fading off towards the other end. Is this a deliberate thought ?

    • Oh, i believe it’s because there is red color on the left, that’s why. Most colors are supressed, only a few colors are emphasized in this photo. You are so observant. I never realize though.

  12. Pingback: One Asia Festival – Celebrating The Images of Asia (via MOMENT | Photography) | Higher Learning..Constant Craving

Leave a comment